The countdown continues: two weeks to go


Today marks exactly two weeks until the footballing world turns its attention to Zurich, as the curtain rises on The Best FIFA Football Awards™ ceremony. This milestone provides an ideal opportunity for to start the week by taking a closer look at the candidates for this year’s FIFA Puskás Award.

2 women have reached the FIFA Puskás Award final three, with Venezuelan sensation Daniuska Rodriguez joining Stephanie Roche, nominated for the 2014 award, in representing the women’s game with distinction. Roche was catapulted to global superstardom, with her effort shortlisted alongside goals from the 2014 FIFA World Cup™ by eventual winner James Rodriguez and Robin van Persie, finishing second between the pair.

Two Brazilians have won the award before, with Marlone hoping to join countrymen Neymar (2011) and Wendell Lira (2015) in continuing his country’s fine tradition in the award. In total, one-eighth of Puskás nominations have been for Brazilians (10/80), with Neymar contributing five of those ten nominations. On the other hand, Malaysia had never had a Puskás nominee before Mohd Faiz Subri, who is also only the fourth player from the AFC confederation to be nominated for the award.


Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s