Ekiti: Bank detains Fani-Kayode’s wife, 8-month- old baby on EFCC’s orders

image

From Wole Balogun, Ado-Ekiti

The Economic and Financial Crimes Commission,
yesterday, ordered Acess Bank to detain wife of
former Aviation minister of Aviation, Femi Fani-
Kayode, Precious, in Ado Ekiti.

Fani-Kayode’s wife, who had visited Ekiti Governor,
Ayodele Fayose, went to an Access Bank branch in
Ado Ekiti, around 3:00 p.m when she was detained
by bank officials.
Daily Sun learnt that Mrs. Fani-Kayode had waited
for many hours at the bank but was not attended
to and when she enquired from bank officials what
the problem was, she was told she was being
detained on EFCC’s directive.
Precious, who was seen cuddling her eight-month-
old baby with her at the time was subsequently
prevented from leaving the banking hall afterwards.
However, it took the intervention of Fayose, who
led some supporters to the bank around 7:00pm
to secure her release.
Speaking with newsmen after the incident, Mrs.
Fani-Kayode alleged she was ill-treated by the
officials and her baby, who sobbed during the
ordeal, was denied food.
“I’m not a politician and that account had been
dormant for about five years. I only activated it last
month in Port Harcourt.I decided to go to Access
Bank to make some withdrawals when I was
detained on the instruction of the EFCC. They told
me the account had been frozen and they were
asked by the EFCC to arrest me on the spot.
“I have been operating the account since 2005
when I was a student in the university. They had
earlier frozen my two bank’s accounts and I have
been waiting for them to invite me, yet, they have
not.
“The balance in the account is just N200,000, so, I
don’t know what their interest is. I’m a private
person, I have not received any political fund, so,
why are they trying to starve my family? That
account has nothing to do with politics. I had to
call the governor to inform him of the
development.”
Fayose warned the anti-graft agency against
lawlessness and reckless behaviour against
Nigerians.
“They can’t try that nonsense in my state. If they
try it, it will be a showdown. They are over-
stepping their boundary.
“This is a country that operates a constitution.
What kind of molestation is this? Taking away the
rights of Nigerians because you are investigating.
“Must they terrorise people because they are in
opposition? I have demanded an apology from the
bank, if they failed to do that I’m done with them.
This is lawlessness.”
In a telephone interview with Daily Sun, Femi Fani-
Kayode – a chieftain of the Peoples Democratic
Party (PDP) pleaded with the Federal Government
to leave his family members alone.
“This govt is sick and cowardly and so is the
EFCC. If you have a problem with me, face me and
leave my family alone.
“She has never had any business with me, she has
never been formally invited by the EFCC or asked
any questions about her transactions and neither
have they written to her on any issue even though
they are always sending letters to my house and
sending people there.
“If Buhari wants to deal with me, why doesn’t he
face me like a man instead of trying to harm and
hurt my wife and eight-month-old son. “This is
Buhari’s Nigeria and we will resist his wickedness
and tyranny.”
Fani-Kayode said he intended to sue the bank and
the EFCC for this “illegal and wicked action.”
EFCC Spokesman, Wilson Uwujaren told Daily Sun,
yesterday night that Precious was detained
because the account allegedly received ººN1
million from former Director of Finance for the
Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) Presidential
Campaign, Senator Nenadi Usman.
He further explained that banks have standing
instructions to contact the EFCC whenever any
attempt is made to withdraw funds from any
account under investigation.
Besides, the said account allegedly has two
different Bank Verification Number (BVN). “It was
discovered that two people were found to have
BVN on the same account. It was placed under
investigation.
“She went to withdraw money from account under
investigation and the bank alerted the EFCC,” he
added.
did not answer
“Had it not been for the intervention of Governor
Ayo Fayose they would have been taken them
away and subjected them to all manner of harm
and indignities simply because she is married to
me.
“They have no right to do this. If they want to see
my wife all they need to do is to invite her. We
have nothing to fear. They do not need to be so
primitive and barbaric to people.”

Leave a Reply

