‘Aisha should stay out of politics and care for me’ – Buhari insists

image

President Muhammadu Buhari

When President Buhari initially was caught on
video saying: “I don’t know which party my wife
belongs to,
but she belongs to my kitchen, my
living room and my other room,” Nigerians went
berserk due to what many termed the ‘backward
mentality’ reflected in such a statement.
However the presidential spokesman, Garba Shehu
quickly took to Twitter to defend the President
stating that it was a joke, he tweeted this:

However contrary to these claims, the president
granted an interview to Phil Gayle of popular news
service, Deutsche Welle (DW), in which he
reiterated his statement showing that it was not
mere banter.

Mr Gayle asked Buhari what he meant during that
statement in Germany, saying: “Recently your wife
criticized your choices for top jobs, and you
responded by saying “I don’t know which party my
wife belongs to, but she belongs to my kitchen
and my living room.” What did you mean by that,
sir? ” DW asked President Buhari.

In his response to the question, President Buhari
answered: “I am sure you have a house. … You
know where your kitchen is, you know where your
living room is, and I believe your wife looks after
all of that, even if she is working.”
In an attempt to clarify, Mr Gayle asked again,
“That is your wife’s function?” to which President
Buhari replied: “Yes, to look after me.”
“And she should stay out of politics?” Gayle asked,
“I think so” Buhari said.

Leave a Reply

