Lady Gaga Explains the Connection Between Taylor Kinney and “Perfect Illusion”

image

Was Lady Gaga ‘s relationship with Taylor Kinney a
perfect illusion? Not exactly.

When the songstress’ first single off her upcoming
fifth album, Joanne , hit the airwaves, fans
immediately began speculating that the song had
been crafted as an ode to Gaga’s paused
engagement to the Chicago Fire star.
Two months after addressing their unexpected
break on social media, Gaga released the track
with a chorus that rang, “It wasn’t love. It was a
perfect illusion.”
“I would just say that my music on my album as
well as all my albums is inspired by my personal
life and this one more than others,” she explained
to E! News when asked about the song’s meaning.
“I have said it before—I love Taylor so much and
he’s my best friend.”

image

Gaga says the song is meant to reflect a common
feeling in relationships driven by the digital age—
one she has also felt.
“This video is a performance of a song that I wrote
of that moment about how I feel, but how I’m sure
he’s felt sometimes, how you have felt sometimes,
how other people feel in relationships, how I see
my friends struggle and become just full of rage
and anger as they try to figure out how to date
during a time when everybody’s sort of creating
these perfect illusions of themselves on the
Internet and nobody really knows what’s real and
what isn’t,” she explained. “It’s about all of that.”

image

To combat all of those virtual boundaries, the
songstress wanted the accompanying music video
to be “really pure and really honest.”
“Nothing was choreographed,” she explained to E!
News. “I didn’t rehearse any of those things that
you see in the video. Everything in that was just
completely in the moment—pure, raw performance
of how I feel.”
“The intention was there to be no perfect illusions
in the video about perfect illusions,” she laughed.
“It’s so beautiful in that way. I love that opening
shot in the video when it’s just a silent light
pouring through the hands of the fans as they’re
all dancing and nobody has a cell phone in their
hands and everybody’s got a little dirt on them
and it’s something that we don’t do anymore.”

image

With the help of Joanne, Gaga aims to inspire that
cell phone-free human connection that often feels
extinct nowadays.
“It’s not extinct because through me and through
this album, I will make it un-extinct,” Gaga
promised. “That is my dream.”
While we’ll just have to wait and see if that dream
comes to fruition, in the meantime, Gaga has her
mind solely on the music.
“I just want to do what I’m doing right in this
moment. I want to sing and dance and be as close
as I can to as many fans and people as possible
and bring them together through music and
through live performance. That’s my calling and
that’s really what I’m most focused on,” she
explained.
Lady Gaga will be able to do just that during
intimate shows for her upcoming Dive Bar Tour in
collaboration with Bud Light Music.To find out
more details, fans can turn to Bud Light’s
Facebook page on October 5th at 10 p.m. EST.
“I don’t really want anything other than to make
people happy through music,” she concluded. “I
hope that I can bring these Joanne vibes to the
world.”

Leave a Reply

