Oshiomhole attacks PDP, accuse party of plot to rig

image

Governor Oshiomhole will be overseeing the Edo
Election on Wednesday, September 28.

Oshiomhole on Friday, September 9, said the
Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) is accustomed to
rigging and can’t boast of a transparent election in
other states in the South-South geopolitical zone.
He said Edo is the only state in the region that had
been able to dismantle the PDP rigging machine
and would do so again on the rescheduled date for
the state’s gubernatorial election.

The governor made the assertion while receiving a
team of European observers led by Ben Llewellyn-
Jones, of the British High Commission, Abuja, at
the Government House, Benin City.
Oshiomhole said: “We do appreciate the interest of
what I might call friends of Nigeria, those who help
us to continually and continuously remember that
although there are different nation states, but the
world has increasingly become one small village
such that events in any part can affect the whole.
So, we do not underestimate the import of this
election even as it is limited to Edo State.
“Edo State as we speak is the only state that can
boast of a record of transparent elections since I
came on board in 2007. Since I came, my
campaign slogan was, we must dismantle the
rigging machine.
“Having been a union member all my life, I
couldn’t condone the situation where people are
imposed at various levels, and our people gave up
on democracy in this state, just like the rest of the
South-South.”
“I am sure you have witnessed elections there and
you can write volumes. They vote with bullets, not
with ballots. Terror, not persuasion is the name of
the game in the rest of the South-South. But since
I came in, we have fought the forces behind
rigging.
We emboldened the people to challenge
authorities, which is what I have done when I was
in labour. And even as they still rigged me out and
I fought them through the legal process,
painstakingly established how I was rigged out and
I got my mandate restored. It never happened
before, and nobody appreciates the essence of free
and fair election more than myself.”
Meanwhile, in what seem like a counter-attack, the
PDP has listed ways by which the APC seeks to
manipulate the outcome of the forthcoming election
in Edo state.
The national coordinator of the Peoples Democratic
Party National Youth Frontier, Usman Okai Austin,
revealed that the All Progressives Congress (APC)
plans to disrupt the exercise using different
strategies.

Leave a Reply

