Cristiano Ronaldo works out as he looks to make Real Madrid return after winning Best Player in Europe award

image

Cristiano Ronaldo has been working on his fitness
as he builds up to a return for Real Madrid.

Ronaldo has been out of action since suffering a
knee injury when playing for Portugal in the final of
Euro 2016. Portugal went on to win the game
against host nation France to capture the trophy.
He has been unable to make an appearance for
Real since the start of the new season and missed
out on their entire pre-season campaign. g

image

Ronaldo won the Best Player in Europe award at
UEFA’s Champions League draw on Thursday

However, he was able to attend UEFA’s Champions
League group stage draw on Thursday evening.
Ronaldo won the Best Player in Europe award at
the event, beating Antoine Griezmann and Real
team-mate Gareth Bale to the trophy.
The forward outlined his commitment to his
current club after winning the trophy: ‘I’m in the
best club in the world and I want to finish in this
club at 41. Now I need to be calm but my aim is
to extend my contract and stay in the club that I
like the most.
‘I want to maintain myself at this level. I will work
to achieve it as I’ve done every year. I don’t need
to look at anyone else, I motivate myself. What I
want is to be competitive for another year.’

image

Ronaldo poses with the Real squad and the trophy
after returning to Madrid on Friday

He watched as Real were drawn against Sporting
Lisbon, Borussia Dortmund and Legia Warsaw in
the group stage.
Meanwhile, the 31-year-old has been ruled out of
Portugal’s first World Cup qualifier for Russia 2018
against Gibraltar, which takes place on September
1.
Manager Fernando Santos left out the forward,
calling up the likes of Eder and Rafa Silva in his
place.

image

Leave a Reply

