Buhari is my mentor, says man who named dog after president

image

Joachim Chinakwe Iroko, who was arraigned
and remanded for naming his dog ‘Buhari’, has
spoken out over the incident

– Iroko also revealed his experience in prison and
the lessons he had learnt from his arrest and
detention
– He further gave a reason he named his dog after
the president and said he has other dogs with
notable names
Just after his release from prison, Joachim
Chinakwe Iroko, the man who named his dog
Buhari, has revealed that he does not hate
President Muhammadu Buhari.
He, in fact, said the president was his mentor and
that he had other dogs named after other
prominent leaders of the world.
Iroko, the man who named his dog Buhari
Iroko, a 40-year-old native of Delta state, was
arraigned at the Ota Magistrate’s Court, for
conduct likely to cause breach of peace and
remanded in Ibara Prisons in Abeokuta, Ogun
state.
The incident led to serious criticism against the
Nigerian law enforcement agencies as well as the
administration of President Muhammadu Buhari.
However, the presidency released a statement on
Thursday, August 26, 2016 saying Buhari did not
order Iroko’s arrest
over what it termed a laughing matter.
Vanguard reports that after his release from prison,
Iroko said he had learnt a lot of lessons.

“I am so happy. It is a joy to me. I have missed
my family; that was most painful.
“Prison is a place to experienced in one’s life. It is
like a rehabilitation home: you learn many things
there and there are many people you may not have
the opportunity to talk to.

“But in prison, you will sit down with them and
discuss. There are many things you take for
granted, but when you go to prison you know there
is law.
“The only thing I am regretting about my coming
to prison is the intimidation from the Hausa
community. Going to prison is a golden moment
for me,” he said.
Continuing, he said: “As a matter of fact, they
misunderstood me. I have three dogs: one bears
Obama, one bears Joe, an abbreviation of my
name. The third is named Buhari.

“I named these dogs after my role models. My late
dog was named after Nelson Mandela. I don’t just
give any name to my dogs.
“I give reputable names to my dogs. It is love I
have for Buhari; he is my role model.
“Buhari is not the President of the North. He is the
President of Nigeria. I see no reason why
Northerners should intimidate me: Nigeria is one.
“I see no reason why they will be intimidating me.
It is my right to name my dog any name.
“Thank God, I have regained my freedom. The
most painful thing is the way they treated my dog.
I am not happy that they killed my dog, while I
was in detention.
“It is my dog, it is my pet. I love my dogs. They
have no right to kill my dog.

“Nigerians should know that there are other dogs
in other areas that bear Jack as name. Why is
Buhari so special. It is a name that has been
existing for several years.”

Leave a Reply

