My pastor pushed me to sell stolen car –Suspect

image

Samson Folarin

The Lagos State Police Command has arrested a
robbery suspect, Olawale Olabinwonu, while
attempting to sell a stolen vehicle.

Olabinwonu, an administrative officer of the
Cherubim and Seraphim Church, Igbogbo, Ikorodu,
was arrested by operatives of the Rapid Response
Squad while trying to sell a Nissan Sentra, 2015
model.
The vehicle, whose number plate was changed,
had been placed on an online shopping platform,
where it was advertised for sale.

Police investigators had, on seeing the advert,
called the contact on the website to indicate
interest.
A man, who took custody of the car where it was
parked in the Lekki area of the state, was said to
have been arrested.
The suspect, however, denied ownership of the car
and subsequently led detectives to Olabinwonu’s
residence.
Olabinwonu was reported to have packed out of the
house with his family after sensing danger.
He was, however, tracked to a church in the area
where he was arrested.
the vehicle, which is
owned by a bank, was stolen at gunpoint when
some robbers attacked a hotel in the Iju-Ishaga
area where the manager of the bank lodged.
The robbers were said to have made away with the
car along with other valuables of the banker.
Olabinwonu, in his statement to the police, said the
car was given to him by a friend he identified as
Ahmed Abbey, who asked him to find a buyer for
it.
He explained that he consulted his pastor twice,
who assured him that nothing would go wrong and
he could go ahead with the sale.
He said, “I met Abbey at Dammy Jay Hotel,
Ikorodu. He came to my table, bought drinks for
everyone and we became friends. While I was
going home, he gave me N2,000.
“I saw Abbey later that week to ask if he could
help me with some money because I had no job.
He asked if I could help his sister, who was
travelling overseas, to sell her car.
“I consulted my pastor and he told me to collect
the car from him. I took the car from him, but after
about three weeks and I couldn’t get a buyer, he
took the car from me.
“Some weeks later, I saw him with the car and he
challenged me that I didn’t want to sell the car.
After a while, we agreed that I should try again.
“I consulted my pastor again for him to pray about
it. This time, my pastor introduced me to someone
in Lekki, who had a car park at a very conspicuous
place, where we could put the car for sale. The car
was there when I learnt that it was stolen at
gunpoint.”
Olabinwonu said since his arrest, his friend had
switched off his phone.
The Police Public Relations Officer, SP Dolapo
Badmos, confirmed the arrest, saying efforts were
on to get Abbey.
“The suspect has been transferred to the Special
Anti-Robbery Squad for further investigations,” she
added.

Leave a Reply

