SouthAfrica:Megachurch pastorapologisesfor preaching’racist’sermon

image

ASouthAfricanmegachurchpastorhas apologisedafterpreachingasermonthat impliedwhitepeopleworkharderthan blackpeople.

AndreOlivier,pastorofRiversChurchin Johannesburg,hasapologisedforthe hurtandoffencecausedbyhis controversialcommentsduringa sermon,claiminghewasquotedoutof context.
Hesaidduringhissermon: “Ifyouare black,Godwillsendyouwhitepeople.The probleminSouthAfrica,[wesay]white peoplearetheproblem…nowearenot.We havecontributedtothisnationandwestill do.”
“Andifyouwanttoknowwhywhitepeople havestillgotmoney…it’sbecausethey work,sodon’tdrivethemaway.”
Thecontroversialleaderofthepolitical partyEconomicFreedomFightersJulius MalemathreatenedOlivier,callinghimto resignorthiscomingSunday’sservice wouldbe”different”.
“Racistsmustbefoughteverywhere includingthosehidingbehindthepulpit,”
saidMalemaonTwitter.
“Letthechurchsuspendthepastor otherwisethecomingSundayservicewill bedifferent.#Whitesupremacymustfall”.
Olivierapologisedforhissermon yesterdayonTwitterinaseriesofposts,
whichhavealsobeenpostedontheRivers ChurchFacebookpage.
“Reflectingonmysermonlastweekend,I believethatitisrightformetoexpressmy regretforthehurtandoffensethatwas causedbymystatementsmadeduringmy message,”hewrote.
“ForthatIunreservedlyapologise.I recognisethatmywordswerepoorly chosen,particularlyincontextofwhere thiscountrycomesfrom.Mycomments didnotreflectmyintention,andI acknowledgetheharmthathascomeasa result.
“IloveallSouthAfricans&amcommitted tobuildthecountrytoovercomethe wrongsofthepast.Wordscannotexpress myfullremorse.Itrustmyfutureactions willsupportthesincerityofmyapology.”

image

An apology from Ps AndrĂ©, “Reflectin my sermon last weekend, I believe th is right for me to express my regret f the hurt and offense that was caused my statements made during my message. For that I unreservedly apologise. I recognise that my words were poorly chosen, particularly in context of where this country comes from. My comments did not reflect m intention, and I acknowledge the har that has come as a result. I love all South Africans and am committed to build the country to overcome the wrongs of the past. Words cannot express my full remorse. I trust that future actions will support the sinceri of my apology.

Leave a Reply

